Sismologic Program

Seismic Monitoring Network

The permanent seismic monitoring network of the island of São Miguel, Azores archipelago, consists of 16 seismic stations, with 13 stations being short-term analogue (6 of 1 component and 7 of 3 components) and 3 stations are digital, in that one is short term and the other two broadband.

The seismic stations transmit in real time to the CIVISA facilities, at the University of the Azores, in Ponta Delgada, where the data are stored and subsequently analyzed.

This permanent monitoring network has as main objective to monitor the main active volcanic systems of the island of São Miguel, in order to identify precursor signals of volcanic activity and the monitoring of seismic crises.